Welcome to the official website of 12th version of the Bolivian Conference on Development Economics (BCDE2021). BCDE2021 will be held on Thursday and Friday November 18th and 19th, 2021, at Universidad Privada de Santa Cruz de la Sierra (UPSA), Bolivia.

BCDE2021 is planned to be held as an in-person conference; however, due to Covid-19 outbreak, online presentations are also welcomed. Please visit this website for future updates about the conference.

About the Conference

The Bolivian Conference on Development Economics aims at bringing together local and international scholars for the exchange of ideas and discussion of recent research on all areas related to economic development.

We welcome submissions of theoretical and applied research, and we particularly encourage female and Bolivian scholars at an early stage in their careers to submit their work.

The conference is organized by the Bolivian Society of Economists (SEBOL), Universidad Privada de Santa Cruz de la Sierra (UPSA), the Institute for Advanced Development Studies (INESAD), the Bolivian Academy of Economic Sciences (ABCE), and the Sustainable Development Solutions Network Bolivia (SDSN Bolivia). BCDE2021 will consist of parallel sessions, debate round tables, and keynote lectures delivered by Raquel Fernández (NYU) and Paulina Restrepo-Echavarría (Federal Reserve Bank of St Louis).
Call for Papers
Call for Papers

Coming soon.


Coming soon

Keynote speakers

Raquel Fernandez

Julius Silver, Roslyn S. Silver and Enid Silver Winslow Professor of Economics, New York University
New York University

Paulina Restrepo-Echavarria

Senior Economist
Federal Reserve Bank of St Louis
Raquel Fernández (Ph.D. Columbia University 1988) is Professor of Economics at New York University and at the University of Oslo in Norway. She is a member of the Scientific Council of the Barcelona Graduate School of Economics, member of the Council of the European Economic Association and the Royal Economic Society, a Research Fellow of CEPR and IZA, and a Research Associate of NBER. She has held permanent and visiting appointments at the London School of Economics, Boston University, University of Chicago, Free University of Brussels, and University Pompeu Fabra, and has also been a consultant for the World Bank. She has worked extensively on culture and economics, marital sorting, the intergenerational transmission of inequality, and education policy; and her work has been published in leading scientific journals in economics.

Paulina Restrepo-Echavarría (Ph.D. UCLA 2010) is Senior Economist at the Federal Reserve Bank of St. Louis. She has worked on the direction of capital flows, debt crises, sovereign default in commodity-rich economies, the incidence of the informal sector in the macroeconomy, labor market frictions, and theoretical models of the marriage and dating market. Her work has been published in the American Economic Review, Journal of Economic Theory, and the European Economic Review among others. She is Affiliated Faculty at Washington University in St Louis., and her current research interests are on international macroeconomics and search theory.

Hosted by
Universidad Privada de Santa Cruz (UPSA)

Av. Paraguá y 4to. Anillo

Tel.: +591 (3) 346 4000

Google Maps Directions
Venue map


undergraduate and graduate students, professionals, policy makers and private sector participants.


from local and international universities, research institutes and international organizations.


Including plenary sessions with policy reports and academic presentations of cutting edge research.

parallel sessions

Covering topics on education, inequality, labor markets, trade, health, macroeconomics, political economy, natural resources, environmental economics, entrepreneurship and productivity.


Executive Committee

Sergio Daga, UPSA, SEBOL, Co-Chair

Fabiola Saavedra Caballero, UCLouvain, SEBOL, Co-Chair

Lykke E. Andersen, SDSN Bolivia, UPB, ABCE, SEBOL, INESAD

Beatriz Muriel, INESAD, ABCE, SEBOL

Scientific Committee

Diego Escobari, University of Texas Rio Grande Valley, SEBOL, ABCE

Alejandro Herrera, IDB, SEBOL

Pablo Selaya, University of Copenhagen, SEBOL, ABCE

Conference Team

Stefano Canelas, SDSN Bolivia

Pablo Cuba Borda, Federal Reserve Board, SEBOL

Luiz Gonzáles, CLAPES-UC, SEBOL

Oscar Molina, UPB, ABCE, SDSN Bolivia, INESAD, SEBOL

Joaquín Morales, UPB, SEBOL

Andrés Morillas, INESAD

Mauricio Tejada, ILADES, SEBOL